I was able to finish all the Kings and Queens in the deck! I also decided to add all the other cards in his post also.

Each suite has elements from the fairytale it is based on. The card symbols like the frog, the apple, the snowflake, and the rose are important elements to each fairytale. To connect the Kings and Queens, I added the symbol to tie them better together with the deck.

The characters were all made in Photoshop. The designs for the Kings were first sketched out, but for the Queens I just went right ahead and made them in Photoshop. I tried my best to steer away from their Disney interpretations but I must admit it was very hard. I even found myself listening to music from the Disney movies as I made them. Yet I did not want to disregard the original stories and just completely make my own interpretation of the characters. In all, I used the original stories as my influence.

Beast was the most difficult character to make, even with using a texture (which in reality made it harder I think.) The goblin/devil from The Snow Queen was my favorite character to make, it was an experience to use texture yet avoid giving a flat feel to it.

 

